Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

We move from the urban sprawl of NYC out to the country, where I spent my childhood.  This is in rural Lancaster, SC near my grandparents’ house. Having passed it countless times in my life, I have long been fascinated with this lone tree.  It’s just up on a hill all by itself, in the middle of a cow pasture.  The solitude of this scene has always had an allure to it, and I tried to capture a glimpse of that in this photo.  I’ve taken pictures of it before, but they just didn’t live up to my expectations.  The clouds were spectacular on the day I was out shooting this. I loved the striated patterns that they were making in the sky, so I stopped the car and got out to set up this shot.  Since the tree is fairly far from the road, I used my Nikon 70-300 ED to frame it a little tighter.  I followed my usual pattern of shooting 9 exposures, but since I left the camera set at ISO 400 for the whole day’s shoot, the +4 exposure was so blown out I couldnt use it. As such this is an 8 exposure HDR shot at ISO 400 on my D200. The results are definitely not as clean as I’d get from shooting at ISO 100, but it’s not too bad. I’ll definitely remind myself to check that setting when I go out again though!
I had been shooting at nearby 40 Acre Rock earlier in the day, and I captured this on my way home from there.  I will be posting some shots from there later, but I think this was the most successful capture of the day.

