Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My first gallery showing is in the house pictured here.  This is the Springs House, home to the Lancaster County Council of the Arts in my hometown of Lancaster, South Carolina.  It seems only fitting that my first show would be here, in the place that I grew up.  This blog post is a collection of some of the HDRs that I presented in the show, and all are from Lancaster.

It has been 10 years since I began my journey as a photographer.  I have learned, failed, floundered, grown, and succeeded in my photographic journey in that time, and this is the culmination of my experience.  Everything I have learned in the last 10 years is in these images.  Since I am heavily into HDR imaging right now, this played a huge role in the photos that I chose to exhibit.  Actually, all of the images that are in the show are less than 6 months old, so these are the most recent images that I have taken.  I had an epiphany earlier this year after entering 2 of my photos into an art auction. Both images sold quickly and I got a lot of positive feedback from people, so gave myself a goal of having a show before year’s end.  I reached my goal.

I wanted to give the people of the town some images of their home, since most of the other photos are from my home of Columbia.  I first went to Lancaster to shoot images for this show in late September.  I shot all evening and thought I had everything wrapped up.  I had a nagging feeling that I didn’t really get what I wanted though.  After I got home and looked at the images on my computer, I knew I had to go back.  This wasn’t my best work, and it needed to be, because I knew that a lot of the people that I grew up with, as well as folks that my parents knew would see these images.  I just couldn’t put up subpar work.  I needed to showcase my photographic skills to the people of my hometown, and give them images that made them look at their town in a way they had never seen it before, in a new light if you will.  So I returned to Lancaster and reshot some of the images I had taken before along with many new places.  I was finally happy with what I had shot, and I think I did the town proud.  This was my home growing up, and even though I’ve moved on, this place will always be close to my heart.  This is my homecoming.

Never give up, keep shooting, and shoot what you love.  The rest will come.  Thanks for reading.

– David

