Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

If you’re not familiar with Minus the Bear, the title of this post won’t make much sense. It’s the title of a promotional CD for their first album Highly Refined Pirates.  But you wouldn’t have to know that to enjoy these photos of them that I took at Tremont Music Hall in Charlotte, NC on 2/24.

My buddy Keven Lenhart introduced me to them when he started working with me in the art department about 2 years ago, and I’ve been dying to see them ever since.  Keven and his girlfriend invited me to go to this show with them, so I finally got my chance, and it was well worth the wait!  These guys came to kick ass.

These were shot on my D200 at ISO 1600, and as such they were noisy as hell.  A little adjustment in Lightroom 4 really helped to alleviate that problem.  I don’t mind a little noise though, as it lends itself to the feel of a live show. Kinda raw, a little rough around the edges.  I was shooting with my 50 f/1.8 wide open or slightly stopped down, and there still wasn’t enough light to freeze the action completely, so some of the movements of the band members are blurred.  That gives a feeling of action to the photos that I really like though, and don’t find it distracting at all.  At any rate, I’m going to keep this post simple.  Enjoy the photos, many more are below!

