Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Fill 'er up! The taps at Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC.

Fill ‘er up! The taps at Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC.

This place used to be my second home, before we had our daughter.  I spent countless nights here enjoying the camaraderie and liveliness that fills this place.  My wife works here, and has for the past 6 years.  I love this place more than any other place I have been in Columbia.  The beer, food, and atmosphere are unique to my city.  There is no other place quite like this.  I was approached by the owner to take some interior shots of the restaurant, and I gladly obliged, as I am very enamored of the establishment and the people who work there.  It was my pleasure to shoot these photos.

The brewing equipment in Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC.

The brewing equipment in Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC.

This is the only place that you can get locally brewed beer in Columbia.  That’s about to change with the recent opening of Conquest Brewery near Williams Brice stadium, but they don’t have the fantastic food that Hunter Gatherer does.  HG is a brewpub, and the only one in town.  The beer is great, and the food is second to none.  It’s the go-to place when I have company from out of town, and especially when I have a night to myself! I’ll go enjoy a pint of their finest anytime I have the chance.

Speaking of which, please don’t go in there asking for Bud Light or any other commercial beer.  They don’t have it. They will frown upon you for asking.  It’s personal.  They sell their own beers, which are some of the best I have ever tasted.  OK, they have Warsteiner, but that’s the only beer that they don’t brew themselves. Being a homebrewer myself, I appreciate the art of beer making, and the taste of freshly brewed beer.  It doesn’t get fresher than this in Columbia.  The beer you drink here was just a sparkle in the yeast’s eye less than 2 weeks ago.

They have 3 beers which are standards – there’s the Wheat, ESB and Pale Ale, with a seasonal beer in rotation.  All fantastic.  The ESB is my personal favorite, but the seasonals are always good too.  The food is fantastic as well.  There really is no other place like it in the city.

The upstairs hallway in Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC.

The upstairs hallway in Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC.

A fisheye view of the dining room of Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC.

A fisheye view of the dining room of Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC.

The stairway looking down in Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC.

The stairway looking down in Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC.

The top of the brewing equipment in Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC

The top of the brewing equipment in Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC

Upstairs at Hunter Gatherer brewery in Columbia, SC

Upstairs at Hunter Getherer brewery in Columbia SC.

If you’re a local business owner who likes these photos, please get in touch with me via my contact page.  I’d love to shoot your location in my signature style.

