Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Looking back on Lower Manhattan after we cruised by on a trip around New York Harbor.

Looking back on Lower Manhattan after we cruised by on a trip around New York Harbor.

Last month I was lucky enough to get to spend a weekend in New York City. i would like to thank my extended family for making this possible, it was truly a trip of a lifetime. There are many more photos for me to share from this trip, but this was one of the ones that I really liked from my preliminary edit of the photos that I took. If you follow me on Instagram you probably saw some others that I took on the trip, but of the DSLR shots I took this one stood out. I love this view of Manhattan, because it’s not often seen. We had sailed around the tip of Manhattan, and I took this as we were looking back on the city just before sunset. The images I’ll present from this trip are a departure for me as they are not HDR. With the motion of the boat, it quickly became evident that bracketing was not going to be possible. It just so happens that I’m finding myself bracketing less and less these days, and this trip really drove home for me the fact that I can get great looking images without using HDR. I still used OnOne Perfect Photo Suite to tone the image to what it looks like now, just as I would with an HDR, but the images still retain that natural look that I find I like more and more. What’s more, it takes me a quarter of the time to process the images, so I don’t have to spend hours massaging one image to get a certain look out of it. It’s a maturing process, and I like that. Everybody’s workflow changes over time, and so does their taste and what they want an image to look like. I’m changing, and hopefully you will like the new direction I’m taking with my imagery. I’ll have more from this trip, but for now, please enjoy Lower Manhattan by Boat, and by all means let me know what you think! Happy shooting!

Processed in Lightroom 4 and OnOne Perfect Photo Suite exclusively. The gear I used to take this shot is irrelevant, but if you must know, this was shot on a Nikon D7000 with a kit lens, 18-55VR.

