Tags

, ,

Television SooC image

It’s late, but here’s my Television SooC post! This is pretty much what I had in my head for my shot for the Television theme proposed by Pete Glogiewicz for the theme of last week. I wanted the photo to have the feel of that old Memorex ad with the guy sitting in front of the stereo in an armchair, you know the one. I don’t know why I thought of that when the theme was proposed, it just popped into my head. I don’t have an armchair, but my couch made an appropriate substitute. I turned off all of the lights in the living room to illuminate my little subjects with nothing but the light from the TV. This one stars who else but my daughter again, and our puppy Jack. I had them sit on the couch and just look at the TV, which is harder than it seems with a 6 year old and a puppy! Scarlet kept moving around, and Jack was just beyond control. I eventually just let them do what they wanted to do, and snapped this in between blurry shots of them moving around. I think this captures the feel of watching late night TV pretty well!

Photographer’s Notes

I shot this with a D7000 and a Sigma 20mm f/1.8 set to f/4, 1/13 of a second and ISO 3200. The high contrast of this scene is what I was looking for when I had this image in my head, and I’m happy with how this one came out. Check out the other guys’ images as well, there’s some really creative stuff going on with this challenge. It’s amazing to me what can be done with no post processing at all!

Eje Gustafsson

Pete Glogiewicz

Chris Lane

Bruce Ulrich

John Pemberton

Doug Patterson

